Laura Howells: Destination Narration

Part of the beauty of this module is the time management aspect of it. It opens freedom to some to be able to choose and prioritise their work whilst perhaps others would find it worrying and chaotic not to have set tasks or activities to complete week by week. I most certainly fall into the first category and these last two weeks have been majorly focused around putting my foot down with this project. It is completely different to my last project in that, in all honesty, the amount of time I’ve spent on it has not been consistent from week to week. This, combined with the very short timeline of approximately 10 weeks, has resulted in a project focused but very exciting fortnight and finally I am tying up all of the loose end I have cut for myself.

So for the last week I have been shortlisting, ordering and organising images for my exhibition (I love saying that noun phrase – it definitely makes me feel like a REAL researcher!) and trying to come up with an effective way to create a narration. As my overall aim is to create an engaging exhibition I did not want to create anything to dull dry and factual: long paragraphs are banned! So finally I have come up with, what I hope, will be an interesting and new way to create a voice around the images: POETRY!!

Yes ladies and gentlemen, it would seem that I am a poet and did not know it. Shakespeare should be quaking in the soil knowing that I am about to publish couplets to rival even the greatest of his works….

Of course I am joking. However, I am happy with my chiming rhymes and hope that it will provide an interesting and innovative narration for my exhibition. I’ve always been a bit of a closet bard, birthday cards weddings that kind of thing. However, I really enjoyed writing lines using the images I had chosen to fulfil the story in my mind. It would seem that I have stumbled on Ekphrasis…

Now for the next very exciting part…Website Design!!

 

Leave a comment